Dairy Australia announces 2020 Board Nominees

Dairy Australia announces the three Board nominees standing for election at its 2020 Annual General Meeting (AGM) to be held in November. There are three vacancies this year for Directors with the following skills (in line with Dairy Australia’s Board skills matrix) due to the expiry of three serving Directors’ board terms.

  • Two Milk Producer positions
  • One Agribusiness, Innovation and Change Management position

Paul Roderick is standing for election for the first time and has been nominated for one of the Milk Producer Director vacancies. Paul has operated his family dairy farm at Harrisville, south-east Queensland for the last 27 years. He has been actively involved in supporting dairy farming in Queensland during this time and is currently Chair of Subtropical Dairy, Dairy Australia’s Regional Development Program. He was a Director on Premium Milk Ltd for eleven years and is a member of the Australian Dairy Conference Board.

Tania Luckin has been nominated to fill the second Milk Producer Director vacancy. She is standing for election for a second term after her appointment to the Board in 2017. Tania has operated dairy enterprises for the past 23 years and runs a family dairy farm in Heywood, South West Victoria. Her contribution to supporting dairy farming also includes serving as a Bonlac Supply Company Director, Board Member of the WestVic Dairy Regional Development Program and as a member of the Dairy Industry Advocacy Review Team.

Roseanne Healy has been nominated to fill the Agribusiness, Innovation and Change Management Director vacancy. She is standing for election for a second term after her appointment as a Director in 2018. Roseanne is an experienced non-executive director of not-for-profit, ASX listed companies and statutory corporations in the agribusiness and innovation sectors. She is currently Deputy Chair of Grains Research and Development Corporation, a Director of Airborne Research Australia Limited and Food Manufacturing and Services and is a former Director of AgriFutures Australia.

Graeme Nicoll is not restanding for election and will retire from the Board.

Chair of Dairy Australia’s Board Selection Committee, Professor Paul Wood AO, welcomed the strong interest from candidates, with 88 applications: “The selected nominees are talented leaders with an impressive set of skills and experience. We are confident they would do a fantastic job representing the interests of dairy farmers and strengthening the dairy industry overall.”

Professor Wood highlighted that levy paying farmers need to register as Members of Dairy Australia in order to participate in Director elections: “We encourage all levy payers to register as Members of Dairy Australia in order to vote. It’s an easy process and information is available on our Become a member page or by calling our memberline T: 1800 004 377.”

To be successfully elected into the vacant Director roles, each nominee will require more than 50% of the votes cast at the AGM. In accordance with Dairy Australia’s Constitution, candidates who wish to nominate separately to the Board Selection Committee process can submit their nomination in writing, supported by signatures from at least 100 Group A members of Dairy Australia. Nominations must be received by Dairy Australia by 5.00pm Monday 31 August 2020.

You're viewing the Dairy Australia website. To view regional dairy information, select a region.
Cookies help Dairy Australia improve your website experience. By using our website, you agree to our use of cookies.