2020 Tasmanian Dairy Awards winners

Annually the Tasmanian Dairy Awards showcase the incredible contribution our dairy farmers bring to the industry through this pinnacle event. In highlighting success and innovation within our industry, we endeavour to stimulate fellow farmers to build and expand their current practices whilst in the process increase production and inspire others to our amazing industry. The event is coordinated through the partnership of the Tasmanian Institute of Agriculture and DairyTas.

Congratulations to the following 2020 Tasmanian Dairy Award winners and a huge shout out to our continued valued sponsors:

ANZ Dairy Business of the Year

Active Dairies - Grant and Kim Archer

You can read about this award on the Tasmanian Institute of Agriculture website.

Fonterra Share Farmer of the Year

Genaro and Rosselyn Velasquez from Edith Creek

You can read about this award on the Tasmanian Institute of Agriculture website.

Rex James Stockfeed Dairy Safety Award

Trinity Pastures, Denis Ryan and Aisling O’Neil

Farming on the rolling hills of Lileah on the North West Coast, Denis and Aisling are share farmers and have had a strong focus on safety in the areas of staff inductions, risk registers and preemployment checklists.  They have implemented these any many other initiatives by leveraging the DairyTas Work Force Development Support contractor (Penny Williams) , Deb Morice Area Manager from Fonterra and Phil John from Farm Safe Tas. 


Veolia Dairy Environment Award

Dutch Mill Australia Pty Ltd (Hatfield) Leased by Silverdale

The Hatfield Dairy is leased by Silverdale in Togari.  Milking 1200 cows this new dairy was installed after significant research into best practice in regards effluent storage and water efficiency.  In a high rainfall area dealing with effluent created a number of unique challenges which have be carefully considered in the build of this dairy.  Over 3.5 kilometres of fencing projects have also been undertaken throughout the farm reducing stock access to creeks. This was assisted with some financial support from the State Government funded Cows out of Creeks program managed by DairyTas.


Fonterra Employee of the Year

Luke Davey-Baldock

Currently Managing Dalmore Dairy, Luke progressed quickly from a Senior Farm Hand, to 2IC through to his current role as farm manager. Luke has shown great enthusiasm, knowledge and skill in all the key areas of farm management. Luke is always thinking ahead, considers risk, knows where his budget is sitting and communicates early. Luke has been in the dairy industry for 20 years which has included time on several farms that commenced on the Sheffield School Farm.


Aurora Energy Employer of Choice

Delmont Trading Trust

Employing up to 20 people, Delmont Trading Trust have refined their approach to employees over time. When they initially transferred into Dairying, they found it hard to retain staff abut have now developed an approach which allows them to successfully run three farms milking 2,400 cows. Delmont Trading Trust leverages the services of Primary Employers Tasmania (PET), keeps abreast of changes relating to the Pastoral Award and encourages all staff members to upskill by attending on and off farm training activities.


Mondelez/Cadbury Young Farmer Encouragement Award

Aaron Ferguson

Aaron has had a clear goal from a young age to own his own dairy farm. During the last 10 years, Aaron has spent time working on cropping farms, built equity rearing dairy stock and undertook other agricultural endeavours in order to learn skills he could transfer into dairying. His passion for dairying has never wavered.

You're viewing the DairyTAS website. To view other regional dairy information, select a region.
Cookies help Dairy Australia improve your website experience. By using our website, you agree to our use of cookies.